Prioritizing at Your New Job


glenn-carstens-peters-190592As new professionals learning to prioritize is crucial to our success. Many of us are currently interns which mean we have a hard time saying no to new assignments especially when our plate is already full. I want my new employer to know I have a can-do attitude but I also don’t want to provide poor results because I’m overwhelmed. Mastering prioritization can help you shine at your internship and help you manage your tasks.

Always ask for a time frame

When you have a specific due date it makes prioritizing tasks easier. The Entrepreneur suggests that you “prioritize everything as A, B or C, as follows:

Priority A: Critical things. Anything that has to be done right away or something important will go terribly wrong.

Priority B: Business as usual. Everything you have to do to meet your short- and long-term business and career goals.

Priority C: Everything else. Busy work, organizing, wants (as opposed to needs), nice to haves, and goofing off (95% of what you do online)”

Physically make a list

I find that writing or typing a plan for the week really helps me knock out my tasks. When I can visually see what I need to do I’m more productive. There’s nothing more satisfying that crossing or highlighting something off your to-do list.  Forbes also suggests that you focus on one task at a time rather than trying to work on multiple things at once.

Invest in a planner

If you haven’t done so yet go get yourself a fancy adult planner. This will help you immensely on organizing your time and tasks. Again visualizing what you have to do will really help you. Also, a planner can help you keep track of due dates and future meetings.

Delbar Ehfad 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Prioritizing at Your New Job

  1. maliaito says:

    I agree with all your points! I don’t think I could survive school, work and my personal life without a planner. It really helps me to be organized and productive with my time because I can plan ahead and manage my time better. Plus the older we get, the more responsibilities we take on, so having a planner is a life saver!

  2. jdulzo says:

    Asking for a time frame has been my thing at my internship. I usually get all of my projects at the same time, so prioritizing them like you talk about here has been crucial!

  3. My planner has been godsend! I use it constantly. With work, school and events, I definitely need the action of writing them down to remember them. I invested in a “big kid” planner and it’s the best decision I’ve made.

Comments are closed.